2021 SMASH Virtual

National Pitch Competition

SMASH is hosting its second virtual National Pitch Competition on August 4th. Scholars will use design-thinking and leverage technology to address an issue affecting their community.

10am PST | 12pm CT | 1pm EST

Days until competition deadline

0
days
0
hours
0
minutes
0
seconds

2021 SMASH Virtual Pitch Competition

In making the move from a residential to a virtual program last year, SMASH seized the opportunity to bring scholars, families, and communities across the country together for a culminating event for scholars to showcase their work by way of a national competition. This year we will have over 600 scholars competing at the site and regional levels for a chance to represent their respective regions and cohorts at the national level.

Scholars will use design-thinking and leverage technology to address an issue affecting their community. Nine teams will advance to the National Pitch Competition and showcase their innovative ideas, demonstrating how young people can be incredible agents of change.

Teams Competing

Nine teams from our sites listed below will represent their respective cohorts and regions as finalists:

National Competition 2020 Video

To catch a glimpse of what you will see at the competition, check out the Second Year Cohort at SMASHxUCLA, who won the competition with their solution of utilizing AR as a tool to make remote learning more entertaining for elementary students. The members of this team were Tyson Brazil, Chelsie Charles, Isabella Diaz Gonzalez, Joseph Toscano, and Patrick Zavalla.

The Third Year Cohort at SMASHxBerkeley took home the prize with their solution that provides assistance with health insurance applications. The members of this team were Owen Cruz, German Jimenez, Giovanna Gonzalez Rojas, Griscelda Diaz, and Griffin Yearby.

Our Sponsors

We would like to give a special thanks to all of our sponsors for their generous support of this event.

© SMASH

Built with